Congenital syphilis
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There has been an increase in the number of babies born with syphilis in the U.S. in recent years. Utah is
no exception to this trend as there were 4 times as many congenital syphilis cases in 2023 compared with
2019. Fortunately, we can prevent congenital syphilis. Providers who care for pregnant patients are key
partners in the fight against the rise in congenital syphilis. Information on testing, treatment, and follow

up for pregnant patients and babies is listed below.

o Screening pregnant patients

9 Treating pregnant patients

Utah law requires syphilis screening for
all pregnant patients within 10 days of
their first exam.

In 2024, the American College of
Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG)
updated their recommendations to also
screen all pregnant patients during the
third trimester and again at delivery.

Pregnant patients with syphilis must be
treated with Bicillin. Those with a
penicillin allergy need to see a specialist
to be desensitized and treated with
Bicillin.

Treatment for pregnant patients must
be started at least 30 days before
delivery to prevent infection in their
baby.

People who have primary, secondary, or
early latent syphilis need 1 dose of 2.4
mu Bicillin.

There are 2 algorithms for syphilis
screening (see ACOG's syphilis testing
algorithm). Both algorithms are okay to
use, but the reverse algorithm is better
at detecting early and late latent
infections.

People who have late latent syphilis
need 3 weekly doses of 2.4 mu Bicillin.
These doses should be 7 days apart, but
up to 9 days is okay for pregnant
patients.

If a dose is missed or falls outside of the
9-day range, treatment must be
restarted.

If patients have neurological symptoms
of syphilis, they must be treated with an
IV penicillin course. See details in the
CDC treatment guidelines.
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https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title26B/Chapter7/26B-7-S216.html?v=C26B-7-S216_2023050320230503
https://www.acog.org/clinical/clinical-guidance/practice-advisory/articles/2024/04/screening-for-syphilis-in-pregnancy
https://www.acog.org/-/media/project/acog/acogorg/files/pdfs/publications/syphilis-screening-algorithm.pdf?rev=7f93193ac7dd4b769d78a4167bf8f938&hash=449C8E305CADC186A3836766050B6DE7
https://www.acog.org/-/media/project/acog/acogorg/files/pdfs/publications/syphilis-screening-algorithm.pdf?rev=7f93193ac7dd4b769d78a4167bf8f938&hash=449C8E305CADC186A3836766050B6DE7
https://www.cdc.gov/std/treatment-guidelines/neurosyphilis.htm
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9 Follow-up testing during pregnancy

Coordinated prenatal care and
documented treatment are important.

If a pregnant patient is treated at or
before 24 weeks' gestation, wait at least
8 weeks to repeat RPR testing unless
they have new symptoms.

RPR testing should be repeated for all
pregnant patients at delivery.

a Past infections

If a pregnant patient has had syphilis in
the past outside of Utah, work with your
local health department to get their
testing and treatment history.

Without proof of appropriate treatment,
a pregnant patient must be treated
again for the current stage of infection.

Post-treatment RPR titer response varies
during pregnancy. Many patients do not
have a fourfold decrease (e.g., 1:8 to 1:2)
by delivery.

A fourfold increase (e.g., 1:4 to 1:16) could
mean the patient was reinfected or has
neurosyphilis. People with a fourfold
increase in titer should be reevaluated and
treated.

If a pregnant patient's records are
outside the U.S., they need to get their
own records if possible. If these are not
available, they will need to be treated
again.

A baby born to a mother who tests
positive for syphilis and does not have
documented treatment should be
managed as a congenital syphilis case.

e Testing and treatment for babies

All babies born to mothers who tested
positive for syphilis during pregnancy
should be tested with an RPR and
checked for symptoms of congenital
syphilis.

The CDC guidelines list 4 different
scenarios based on the mother’s testing
and treatment. Each scenario gives
evaluation and treatment
recommendations for the baby.

Babies with a positive RPR test at birth
should be tested every 2-3 months until
the test becomes negative.

Babies with a negative RPR test at birth
should be tested again at age 3 months.

Refer to the CDC guidelines for how to
interpret and manage follow-up test
results.
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https://ualhd.org/
https://www.cdc.gov/std/treatment-guidelines/congenital-syphilis.htm
https://www.cdc.gov/std/treatment-guidelines/congenital-syphilis.htm

